The Asian Union of Magnetics Societies (AUMS)

The Asian Union of Magnetics Societies (AUMS) was established on January 1, 2009. The AUMS aims to promote the advancement of knowledge in magnetism, magnetic materials, and applications in the Asia Pacific region. The framework of the AUMS was first discussed at the 4th Asia Forum on Magnetics in Taiwan in 2007. The Magnetics Society of Japan (MSJ), the Korean Magnetics Society (KMS), the Taiwan Association of Magnetic Technology (TAMT), and the Chinese Society of Magnetic Materials and Application (CSMMA) made the AUMS agreement during the 5th Asian Forum on Magnetics that was held in Beijing on October 17, 2008. The 1st Council meeting was held in Sendai on March 25, 2009.

At the meeting, it was decided to initiate a new international conference, International Conference of AUMS (ICAUMS), to be held every other year, and furthermore to hold the inaugural meeting in Korea in 2010. Many details on ICAUMS2010 were discussed and subsequently approved at the 2nd Council meeting in Seoul, Korea on April 9, 2010. The second ICAUMS is scheduled in Nara, Japan from October 2nd through 5th in 2012.

The AUMS Council Members

Ching-Ray Chang (National Taiwan University)

[Vice President]
Jae Il Lee (Inha University)
Migaku Takahashi (Tohoku University)
Shao Xiong Zhou (Advanced Technology & Materials Co., Ltd. China Iron and Steel Research Institute Group)

Jen-Hwa Hsu (National Taiwan University)

Ya Fang Han (Chinese Materials Research Society)
De Ren Li (Advanced Technology & Materials Co., Ltd., China Iron and Steel Research Institute Group)
Sang Ho Lim (Korea University)
Hiroaki Muraoka (Tohoku University)
Kyung-Ho Shin (Korea Institute of Science and Technology)
Koki Takanashi (Tohoku University)
Mean-Jue Tung (Material and Chemical Research Laboratories)
Te-ho Wu (National Yunlin University of Science & Technology)